College of Engineering Awards Recognize ChBE Alumni

College of Engineering Awards Recognize ChBE Alumni

On April 16, Georgia Tech’s College of Engineering held its annual Alumni Awards Induction Ceremony at the Four Seasons Hotel. Of 27 honorees, four are alumni of the School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering.

Engineering Hall of Fame

  • Elizabeth B. Moore, BS ChE 1974, Vice President, Project Management & Engineering – Western North America, WorleyParsons Ltd. (retired)

Moore earned her bachelor’s in chemical engineering from Georgia Tech while working as an associate at Lockheed. Entering the engineering construction industry in 1981, she joined what is today AECOM, rising to project manager.

In 1997, she joined Parsons Corporation, serving as deputy director for design and installation of the laser beam path systems and support infrastructure for the National Ignition Facility at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

In 2000, Moore was appointed vice president of engineering technology and also served as director of engineering and procurement for the Newport (Indiana) Chemical Weapons Disposal Facility. In 2006, Moore joined WorleyParsons as senior program director before rising to vice president.

Moore was inducted into the Georgia Tech Academy of Distinguished Engineering Alumni in 2001, and she has served on the External Advisory Board for ChBE since 2002.

Academy of Distinguished Alumni

  • Xavier P. Lefebvre, PhD ChE 1992, Global Vice President, Clinical Operations, Medtronic (Academy of Distinguished Engineering Alumni)

At Medtronic, a $30 billion global medical device company, Lefebvre is responsible for enabling the execution of the company’s 400+ clinical studies across 14 business units.

He joined Medtronic in 2015 through the Covidien acquisition and co-led the integration activities for Clinical. At Covidien, he had driven the creation of a center-led Clinical organization model that significantly improved clinical studies’ quality, performance, and cost-effectiveness.

He remains connected to Georgia Tech through the Cardiovascular Fluid Mechanics Laboratory.

  • Sylvia B. Little, BS ChE 1988, MS ChE 2002, Global Director, Material Science, Kimberly-Clark Corporation (Academy of Distinguished Engineering Alumni)

At Kimberly-Clark, Little currently leads science and technology innovations. During her tenure with Kimberly Clark, she has been noted for her contributions to the pipeline of products and processes spanning scientific concept through commercialization.

With more than 26 patents granted, she has invented and delivered market-changing solutions that have been implemented around the globe and across the Personal Care, Health care, and Kimberly-Clark Professional businesses.

Over the past 15 years, she has worked with Georgia Tech’s Women in Engineering program. In 2003, she was inducted into the Georgia Tech College of Engineering’s Council of Outstanding Young Alumni.

  • Keisha Wilson Tanner, BS ChE 1995, Area Planning Team Lead, BP America (Academy of Distinguished Engineering Alumni)

Tanner is the area planning team lead for BP’s Thunder Horse facility in the Gulf of Mexico. In this role, she is responsible for integrating Drilling & Completions, Operations, and Major Project activities to provide strategic guidance to support business priorities.

She has 21 years of experience supporting offshore operations. For the last 10 years, she has served as a national lead for the BP African American Network Business Resource Group.

Over the past decade, she has been BP’s Campus Champion for Georgia Tech, and she was instrumental in establishing two endowments (the BP Corporation Scholarship and BP Corporation-Dr. Gary S. May Scholarship).

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Elizabeth Moore

  • Xavier P. Lefebvre

  • Sylvia B. Little

  • Keisha Wilson Tanner

For More Information Contact

Brad Dixon (, 404-385-2299