Yoganathan elected to NAE

Ajit P. Yoganathan was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his contributions to “improvements in the biomechanics of prosthetic heart valves and the development of heart repair devices.” (Photo by Gary Meek.)


Ajit P. Yoganathan, a professor in the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering who also holds a joint appointment in the School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, was among three College of Engineering faculty members elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Also elected to the NAE were Deepak Divan, a professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Vigor Yang, chair and professor in the School of Aerospace Engineering. The professors were among the 67 new members and 12 foreign associates elected.

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Yoganathan was elected for his contributions to “improvements in the biomechanics of prosthetic heart valves and the development of heart repair devices.” He came to Georgia Tech in 1994, and his research deals with experimental and computational fluid mechanics as it pertains to artificial heart valves, left and right sides of the heart, and congenital heart diseases. His work involves the use of laser Doppler velocimetry, digital particle image velocimetry, Doppler ultrasound and magnetic resonance imaging to non-invasively study and quantify blood flow patterns in the cardiovascular system.

“Ajit is one of the finest scholars in the field of biomedical engineering. The impact he has had in combining mathematical modeling with experimental validation on improving heart valve performance can be measured only by our ability to measure the value of saved lives,” said Ravi Bellamkonda, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering. “I am proud of his career. His continued translational efforts and his transparent passion to invent better cardiovascular therapies represent the very best that GT/Emory BME and Georgia Tech as a whole have to offer.”

Yoganathan has published more than 250 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters in leading biomedical journals and books. He received the H.R. Lissner award, for his contributions to the field of bioengineering, in 1997 from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. In 2004 he was appointed to the prestigious Wallace H. Coulter Distinguished Faculty Chair in Biomedical Engineering. In 2005 he was awarded the Theo Pilkington award, for his contributions to biomedical engineering education, by the American Society of Engineering Education.

Read more feature stories

Read more ChBE news